Introduction to Killingworth, Connecticut
This area was originally inhabited by Native Americans. The first Europeans arrived in the region in 1663, when it was known as Homonoscitt. On May 9, 1667, the region was named Kenilworth after the English town of the same name. The spelling of the name was distorted over the years, and the town came was incorporated as Kilinworth in October of 1703. It separated from the town of Clinton in 1838.
Killingworth and nearby Attractions
- Eli Whitney Museum
- Connecticut River Museum
- Thomas Griswold House
- Essex Steam Train
- Orient Beach State Park
- Cockaponset State Forest
Things To Do In Killingworth
Local museums and historical sites include the Thomas Griswold House, the Museum of Fife and Drum, the Connecticut River Museum and the Henry Whitfield State Museum. The Hammonasset Beach State Park has a 2-mile long sandy beach where visitors can indulge in sports like swimming, hiking, biking and scuba diving. The Chatfield Hollow State Park, the Gillette Castle State Park and the Cockaponset State Forest are all accessible from Killingworth as well.
Air transportation is available from Tweed-New Haven Airport.
Killingworth Higher Education
Quinnipiac University, Wesleyan University and Central Connecticut State University are some of the nearby colleges and universities.