Introduction to Monticello, Illinois
George Haworth was the first resident of Monticello. He arrived in 1822 as a United States liaison agent. James A. Piatt purchased Haworth’s small log cabin in 1829. James McReynolds, William Barnes and Abraham Marquiss formed a joint stock company after purchasing land from Piatt. The area was named Monticello on the suggestion of James McReynolds. It was officially incorporated on July 1, 1837.
Monticello and nearby Attractions
- Monticello Railway Museum
- Weldon Springs State Park
- Early American Museum
- Spitler Woods State Park
- Children's Museum of Illinois
- Clinton Lake State Recreational Area
Things To Do In Monticello
Curtis Orchard, the Putt Zone Fun Center and Prairie Fire Glass are some of the popular local recreational destinations. At the Monticello Railway Museum, visitors can see cars on display and enjoy train rides. Those interested in the region’s history may enjoy a visit to the Macon County Museum Complex, the Early American Museum or the Children's Museum of Illinois. Local golfers can enjoy a round at the Monticello Golf Course.
Central Illinois Regional Airport at Bloomington-Normal is nearby.
Monticello Higher Education
Parkland College, Millikin University and Lakeland College are accessible from Monticello.