Introduction to Waterboro, Maine
Waterboro was originally known as Massabesic, meaning "the place of much water," because of the many lakes in the region. It was initially inhabited by the Abenaki Indians. Masabesic Plantation was renamed after one of its proprietors, Colonel Joshua Waters. Lumbering began to prosper here in 1764. The first permanent settler was Captain John Smith from Kittery, who visited the area in the year 1768. It was incorporated as Waterborough in 1787. The name was shortened to Waterboro in 1895.
Waterboro and nearby Attractions
- Saco Museum
- Willowbrook Museum Village
- Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge
- Friendship Park
Things To Do In Waterboro
A visit to the Willowbrook Museum Village will help one to discover the area's history. The Saco Museum is popular for its historical significance. The Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge provides amenities for several different types of recreational opportunities. Friendship Park has picnic areas and space for outdoor activities. Lake Arrowhead is also worth visiting.
Air transportation is available from Portland International Airport.
Waterboro Higher Education
Saint Joseph’s College, the University of New England-University Campus, the University of Southern Maine and the University of New Hampshire - Main Campus.