Introduction to Ilion, New York
European settlement first occurred in the area in 1725, when Palatine Germans built homes along Steeles Creek. A number of mills were soon established in the area. Following the American Revolution, New London was established as a community. Development of the area started after 1816, following the establishment of the Remington Arms Company and the Erie Canal. In 1843, the first post office was built. It was officially incorporated as a village in 1852. According to one tradition, the Greek form of the name Troy inspired the village’s name. In 1958, the first solid-state electronic computer was created in Ilion by Sperry Rand.
Ilion and nearby Attractions
- Herkimer Home State Historic Site
- Remington Arms Museum
- Delta Lake State Park
- Herkimer County Historical Society Museum
- Erie Canal
- Utica Zoo
Things To Do In Ilion
The Oriskany Battlefield State Historic Site commemorates the 1777 Battle of Oriskany. The Herkimer County Historical Society Museum, the Oneida County Historical Society Museum, the Little Falls Historical Society Museum and the Musical Museum showcase exhibits reflecting the history and culture of the region. Ilion is also home to the Remington Arms Museum, which features flintock rifles, revolvers and rare pistols. The Delta Lake State Park, which is located on the Delta Reservoir, and the Glimmerglass State Park, located on Otsego Lake, both include beaches, nature trails, playgrounds and picnic areas. Visitors can also enjoy hiking, boating and fishing here.
Air transportation is available from Syracuse Hancock International Airport.
Ilion Higher Education
Nearby colleges and universities include Herkimer County Community College, Colgate University and SUNY College at Oneonta.