Introduction to Vidor, Texas
The Texarkana and Fort Smith Railroad was constructed in this area in 1898. Following its establishment, the community became the site of heavy lumbering activities. Charles Shelton Vidor, a lumberman, took over the Beaumont Sawmill Company and then established the Miller-Vidor Lumber Company in the early 1900s. The community was named "Vidor" in his honor. The first post office was built in 1909. The Miller-Vidor Lumber Company provided employment to a large number of people in Vidor, but once the timber stands in the area were depleted, it moved to Lakeview. In 1929, the Miller-Vidor subdivision was laid out. Cotton, rice, and cattle became the primary local industries. Vidor was officially incorporated in 1960.
Vidor and Nearby Attractions
- Heritage House Museum
- W.H. Stark House
- Stark Museum of Art
- Big Thicket National Preserve
- Sea Rim State Park
- Armand Bayou Nature Center
Things To Do In Vidor
The Heritage House Museum showcases artifacts reflecting the life of people in the region during the late 19th and early 20th century. At the Stark Museum of Art, visitors can view collections of western American paintings. The 1894 home of William Henry Stark is a place of historic interest near Vidor. Armand Bayou Nature Center, a popular destination in the region, features live animal displays, and offers opportunities for hiking and bird watching. The 4,141-acre Sea Rim State Park, situated close to the Gulf of Mexico beach shoreline, provides amenities for the enjoyment of swimming, fishing, hiking, canoeing, kayaking, and camping. Residents of Vidor also host the Texas Barbecue Festival in April every year.
Air transportation is available from Southeast Texas Regional Airport.
Vidor Higher Education
Colleges near Vidor include the Lamar State College - Orange, Lamar State College - Port Arthur, and Lamar University.