Alabama A & M University

Alabama A & M University

Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University, also referred to as Alabama A&M University or AAMU, is a public, land-grant, historically black university located in Normal, Madison County, Alabama, United States. It was established in 1875 as Alabama A&M. In 1896, the name was changed to The State Agricultural and Mechanical College for Negroes. In 1949, this name was changed to Alabama A&M College. Finally, in 1969, it was granted university status, and the name was changed to Alabama A&M University. The University campus stretches over more than 800 acres of suburban land. It grants admission to more than 5,000 students annually.

The men's and women's sports teams of the university are called the Bulldogs and Lady Bulldogs respectively. The official mascot of AAMU is the Bulldog. Students participate in basketball, football, baseball, cross country, golf, soccer, tennis, track & field, bowling, volleyball and softball. The University also has men's and women's swimming clubs.

Disclaimer: Information on this page was not provided or commissioned by the featured school. Information has not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the featured school.

Back to Top