Arizona State University

Arizona State University

Arizona State University or ASU opened in 1885 as Tempe Normal School in Tempe, Arizona. It was the first institution to offer higher education in the region. It was named Arizona State University after a statewide ballot in 1958. This is probably the only institution that was granted University status through popular mandate.

ASU expanded across four campuses over the years. However, the Tempe campus remains the largest, spread out over 642 acres. Downtown Phoenix is at a distance of 8 miles from the campus. It includes the following schools:

  • College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Herberger College of the Arts
  • W.P. Carey School of Business
  • College of Design
  • Mary Lou Fulton College of Education
  • Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering
  • Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law
  • School of Sustainability

The sports teams, as well as students and alumni of ASU, are referred to as the 'Sun Devils'.

Disclaimer: Information on this page was not provided or commissioned by the featured school. Information has not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the featured school.

Back to Top