Augustana College

Augustana College

Augustana College, often referred to as "Augie", traces its roots to the Hillsboro Academy which was established in Illinois in 1835. A group of professors from this institute created The Augustana College and Seminary in 1860. It was initially located in Chicago, but moved to a number of times until it finally came to Canton, South Dakota, in 1884. The Lutheran Normal School, which was founded in 1889, merged with this institute and was established as the Augustana College in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. The college currently occupies a 100-acre campus.

Augustana College offers Bachelor of Arts degrees in various disciplines. Students can choose from more than 50 majors, 30 minors, and over 10 pre-professional programs. Courses are available in the fields of business administration, nursing, biology, education, chemistry, history, and psychology.

The sports teams of Augustana College, known as the Vikings, compete in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference, and NCAA Division II. The Vikings participate in sports like baseball, basketball, cross country, football, golf, tennis, track and field, wrestling, softball, and volleyball.

Disclaimer: Information on this page was not provided or commissioned by the featured school. Information has not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the featured school.

Back to Top