Introduction to Oswego, Illinois
Oswego was first settled in by Europeans in the 1830s. They were attracted to this area primarily because of its transportation potential. The U.S. government put the land up for sale in 1842. The village was initially named Hudson but in 1937, when the first post office was established, it was renamed Lodi. In the same year, residents gathered to select a permanent name for the village. This resulted in the named being changed to Oswega.
Oswego and nearby Attractions
- Little White School Museum
- Fox Bend Golf Club
- Blackberry Oaks Golf Course
- Oakhurst Forest Preserve
- Waubonsee Lake Park
- Hollywood Casino Aurora
Things To Do In Oswego
The Starved Rock State Park offers breathtaking views of the Illinois River along with many popular nature trails. Fishing, boating, camping and horseback riding are some of the most popular activities. Furthermore the Silver Springs State Fish and Wildlife Park has facilities for hunting, fishing, picnicking, hiking, canoeing, snowmobiling, cross country skiing and sledding.
Chicago O’Hare International Airport provides regular international and domestic flights.
Oswego Higher Education
Waubonsee Community College, North Central College and Joliet Junior College have facilities for higher education.