Augusta State University

Augusta State University

Augusta State University, also referred to as ASU, is a co-educational, public university located in Augusta, Georgia, United States. It was established on January 27, 1785, as the Academy of Richmond County. It was renamed to Junior College of Augusta in 1925. In 1957, the junior college separated from the academy and was shifted to its present location on Walton Way. In 1958, the College was renamed to Augusta College and became part of the University System of Georgia. In 1996, it was finally raised to university status and renamed to Augusta State University. It grants admission to approximately 5,500 students annually.

Academic departments at Augusta State University include the following:

  • Business Administration
  • Chemistry and Physics
  • History, Anthropology and Philosophy
  • Languages, Literature, and Communications
  • Military Science
  • Nursing
  • Psychology

The University's sports teams are called the ASU Jaguars. The mascot of the University is the Jaguar. The University sponsors volleyball, cross country, basketball, baseball, softball, tennis, and golf. It also has a full-time cheerleading squad.

Source: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2016-17, National Center for Education Statistics, http://nces.ed.gov/ipeds/

Disclaimer: Information on this page was not provided or commissioned by the featured school. Information has not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the featured school.