Eastern Kentucky University

Eastern Kentucky University

Eastern Kentucky University is an undergraduate and graduate teaching and research institution, located in Richmond, Kentucky. The Kentucky General Assembly established the Eastern Kentucky State Normal School as a teacher's college in 1906 and later officially renamed it Eastern Kentucky University in 1966.

EKU consists of 5 colleges, the Graduate School and the John Grant Crabbe Library. It offers more than 160 degree programs in associates, bachelors, and masters degree programs. The colleges are:

  • College of Arts and Sciences
  • College of Business and Technology
  • College of Education
  • College of Health Sciences
  • College of Justice and Safety

In the 2008 edition, US News & World Report ranked EKU 60th in the Top Southern Masters Universities.

The sports teams of EKU are known as the Colonels.

Source: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2016-17, National Center for Education Statistics, http://nces.ed.gov/ipeds/

Disclaimer: Information on this page was not provided or commissioned by the featured school. Information has not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the featured school.