Mississippi University For Women

Mississippi University For Women

Mississippi University for Women, also known as MUW, was established in 1884. It was initially known as the Industrial Institute and College, and was given its present name in the year 1974. MUW is a public coeducational university located in Columbus, Mississippi. The campus of the university comprises more than 23 buildings. The institution provides various graduate, undergraduate, and professional degrees. In addition, distance education and continuing education programs are also offered. The college also provides opportunities for studying abroad. The student body consists of an impressive number of international students as well. MUW is organized into the following academic divisions:

  • College of Arts and Sciences
  • College of Business
  • College of Education and Human Sciences
  • College of Nursing and Speech Language Pathology
  • Culinary Arts Institute

Mississippi University for Women's athletics department aims at maintaining an active sports life and fields several intramural sports teams. The university is also home to a number of clubs and organizations. These include the Greek societies of Alpha Kappa Alpha, Delta Sigma Theta, Beta Kappa Tau, and Xi Delta Omega.

Source: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2016-17, National Center for Education Statistics, http://nces.ed.gov/ipeds/

Disclaimer: Information on this page was not provided or commissioned by the featured school. Information has not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the featured school.