Saint Johns University

Saint Johns University

The beginnings of Saint John's University, or SJU, can be traced back to a small boy's school which was established by Father Cornelius in 1856. It became a college in 1857, and was then located in St. Cloud. This men's college is now partnered with the women's College of Saint Benedict to offer undergraduate degrees in liberal arts. The two colleges share a 3,200 acre campus in Collegeville and St. Joseph, Minnesota. SJU's recent enrollments have been more than 4,000 students while including representatives from over 30 countries worldwide.

Saint John's University offers students more than 35 majors and over 30 minor programs to choose from. The courses lead to a Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Science, or Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree. Master of Arts degrees are offered by the Saint John's School of Theology & Seminary. The academic divisions of the institute include:

  • Fine Arts
  • Humanities
  • Natural Sciences
  • Social Sciences

The sports teams of Saint John's University are nicknamed the Johnnies. The athletics department fields teams in baseball, basketball, cross country, football, golf, hockey, Nordic skiing, soccer, swimming and diving, tennis, track and field, and wrestling. The Johnnies are members of Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference, and have won a number of national championships.

Source: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2018-19, National Center for Education Statistics,

Disclaimer: Information on this page was not provided or commissioned by the featured school. Information has not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the featured school.