Saint Joseph's University

Saint Joseph's University

Saint Joseph's University, also referred to as SJU or St. Joe's, is a private, coeducational Roman Catholic university that was founded in 1851 by the Society of Jesus as the Saint Joseph's College. SJU is one of the member institutions of the Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities. It ranked eighth among Best Universities-Master's (North) in the U.S. News and World Report's "America's Best Colleges 2009" edition.

SJU enrolls over 7,500 students each year. It offers more than 50 undergraduate majors, over 10 special-study options, and over 25 study-abroad programs in various fields of study. The university is organized into the following academic divisions:

  • College of Arts and Sciences
  • Erivan K. Haub School of Business
  • Undergraduate Continuing Studies

SJU has more than 18 varsity sports teams in Division I of the National Collegiate Athletic Association. Their sports teams are nicknamed the Hawks.

Source: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2016-17, National Center for Education Statistics, http://nces.ed.gov/ipeds/

Disclaimer: Information on this page was not provided or commissioned by the featured school. Information has not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the featured school.