SUNY Health Science Center At Syracuse

SUNY Health Science Center At Syracuse

SUNY Health Science Center at Syracuse is now known as the State University of New York Upstate Medical University. Commonly referred to as SUNY Upstate, the university's origins lie in the Geneva Medical College that was founded in 1834. The Syracuse University took over the assets of this institute in 1871 and established a separate medical college. In 1950, this was taken over by SUNY and named SUNY Upstate Medical Center. It was christened SUNY Health Science Center at Syracuse in 1986, and received its present name in 1999. The 30-acre campus is located in Syracuse, New York.

SUNY Upstate Medical University offers a large number of bachelor's, master's, and doctorate degrees in the field of medicine. The academic divisions of the university include:

  • College of Graduate Studies
  • College of Health Professions
  • College of Medicine
  • College of Nursing

The athletics department of SUNY Upstate Medical University fields several intramural sports teams in basketball, dodge ball, racquetball, soccer, volleyball, hockey, and tennis. The students are also involved in clubs and organizations such as the American Medical Association, Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Society, Internal Medicine Club, and Wilderness Medicine Group.

Source: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2016-17, National Center for Education Statistics, http://nces.ed.gov/ipeds/

Disclaimer: Information on this page was not provided or commissioned by the featured school. Information has not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the featured school.