University Of Mississippi Medical Center

University Of Mississippi Medical Center

The University of Mississippi Medical Centre, also called the UMC, was established as the department of health sciences under the University of Mississippi in 1955. Situated in Jackson, Mississippi, the UMC houses the University hospitals and health systems, including the University of Mississippi School of Medicine and the University of Mississippi Medical Center School of Dentistry, as well as the Rowland Medical Library.

The University of Mississippi Medical Centre offers a number of master's and doctorate degrees. The academic divisions of the university are:

  • School of Dentistry
  • School of Graduate Studies
  • School of Health Related Professions
  • School of Medicine
  • School of Nursing

The UMC has a number of student clubs and organizations. Among those on campus are Phi Kappa Phi, and the Theta Beta Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau. UMC's athletics teams participate in football, basketball, and volleyball.

Source: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2016-17, National Center for Education Statistics, http://nces.ed.gov/ipeds/

Disclaimer: Information on this page was not provided or commissioned by the featured school. Information has not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the featured school.